Educational grants

These grants are now open for 2017 and support whānau who whakapapa to Moeraki and are looking to further their studies at a recognised tertiary institution. Applications will close on Friday 31 March.

These grants will provide financial assistance to tertiary students who meet the following criteria:

Registered as a member of Te Rūnanga o Moeraki Inc.
Attending a tertiary institution and enrolled in a course leading to a recognised qualification.

To obtain an application form please contact Jenny Brookes, Office coordinator, Te Rūnanga o Moeraki office, Tenby Street, Moeraki RD2, Palmerston, Phone 03 439 4816; email: [email protected]

Otago Polytechnic/Rūnaka Scholarship

The 2017 Otago Polytechnic/Rūnaka Scholarship covers tuition fees for up to three years for a chosen programme of study at Otago Polytechnic. The purpose of the Rūnaka Scholarship is to encourage Kāi Tahu students to succeed in tertiary education by removing financial barriers to study. The scholarships also acknowledge the contribution students can make to their rūnaka and local community.

This scholarship is offered to one student, for study in a chosen programme at Otago Polytechnic, from each of the four local rūnaka namely:

Te Rūnaka o Moeraki: [email protected]
Kāti Huirapa Rūnaka ki Puketeraki: [email protected]
Te Rūnaka o Ōtākou: [email protected]
Hokonui Rūnaka: [email protected]

Please send your completed application to the rūnaka that you affiliate with well before the closing date of 18 March.