Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua annual general meeting was held October 9. Elections resulted in a change of chairmanship for Arowhenua rūnanga, with Vania Pirini-Hurunui elected to serve for the next three years as the new Kaiwhakahaere.

Vania Pirini-Hurunui, a descendant of Te Anau and granddaughter of the late Mohi Fowler, brings skills and expertise currently working for Te Pūtahitanga o Te Waipounamu past employment for He Oranga Pounamu, Ministry of Health, Sport and Recreation NZ and Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and mahi aroha for a variety of not-for-profit activities over the past 20 years. She excels in leadership, advocacy and decision-making across Te Waipounamu particularly the health and fitness sectors, including governance roles such as school board of trustees and Arowhenua Rūnanga.

Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua (Executive):
Chairperson – Vania Pirini-Hurunui
Treasurer – Mandy Home
Secretary – Aroha Rickus

Committee members:
Michelle Reihana
Mokai Reihana
Lyndon Waaka
Darren Solomon.

Congratulations to the incoming board. To the members of the outgoing board, we acknowledge the years of commitment and hard mahi that everyone has implemented for our whānau of Arowhenua. Ngā mihi for the many challenges, tears and sweat attached to these roles. A special acknowledgement to our outgoing Chair John Henry and Treasurer Richard Hopkinson for the often unseen work that goes on and the many hours and meetings held to re-develop our marae and implement our two Mātaitai. Although there are many other committees lead by John and Richard the two mentioned are of great significance to them both. To Aunty Suzy who has passionately and tirelessly given her time and energy to our marae, we thank you. You have been a strong, encouraging and supportive role model for wāhine and a great ambassador in your role as a health promoter. Congratulations on ensuring our marae is auahi kore. It’s now time for you to take a well-deserved rest…enjoy.