Ka whakakao mai nei kā hau
Ahakoa i ahu mai i hea
Te Kete Ika a Rākaihautū te tuatahitaka
Nei anō te reo ka tukuna i te hau o whakamihi
Ki kā reo, ki kā mana, ki kā whakaihuwaka kua whakarauika mai i raro i te whakaaro he ora te whakapiri
Ka ora anō tā tātou kete kai i a tātou e whakapiri ana
Hei whakatikatika anō i tēnei kōrero o mua
Ko ngā hau ki ētahi wāhi, ko ngā kai ki Orariki

The Canterbury Regional Council and Ngāi Tahu respectively hold statutory and tikanga responsibilities in relation to Te Waihora (Lake Ellesmere).

Through Te Waihora Co-Governance Agreement between, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, Environment Canterbury and Selwyn District Council, they share a commitment to Whakaora Te Waihora for the restoration and rejuvenation of the mauri and ecosystem health of Te Waihora (Lake Ellesmere) so that it continues to provide current and future generations with the sustenance, identity, and enjoyment that it has to those in the past.

Functions and duties of the co-governance group include:

  • Approve any relevant management and/or operational plans
  • Provide leadership to the organisations and the community
  • Identify significant existing and emerging issues affecting Te Waihora and its catchment
  • Receive advice, reports, briefing papers and other relevant information from Council staff Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and other relevant organisations
  • Approve policy and protocols related to the artificial opening and closing of Te Waihora
  • Input into statutory policy statements and plans that relate to Te Waihora and its catchment; and
  • Manage stakeholder relationships within the catchment.

Selection process
Te Apārangi will assess all applications at their February 2016 meeting and will select on relevant skills presented. Candidates must ensure that they provide detailed information of their governance experience and skills for selection to the group.

If you would like any further details or information on any of the above positions please contact Chloe Rapson on 03 974 0005 or by email [email protected]

Note: all completed expression of Interest forms are to be sent to: Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, PO Box 13 046, Christchurch, Attention Chloe Rapson and received no later than Monday 1 February 2016.