We held our annual general meetings for our three entities – Kāti Huirapa Rūnaka ki Puketeraki Inc Soc, Puketeraki Limited and KHRkP Trust on Sunday 1 November.

For the first time in the incorporated society’s history, appointments on the executive committee were contested.

The new executive is Matapura Ellison, Tama Smith and Phillip Broughton who return in their respective positions of chair, deputy chair and treasurer. Marewa Preddy, Peter Ellison, Katharina Ruckstuhl, Lyn Carter and Hinerangi Ferrall-Heath all return to the executive for another term and new to the committee are Jeff Broughton and Kiri Parata-Noema. We welcome Jeff and Kiri to the table and thank the rest of the committee for continuing this important mahi for the rūnaka.

We also announced the Te Rūnanga representative, Matapura Ellison, who is now in his fifth term as the representative and Katharina Ruckstuhl, returns as alternate representative. We do encourage our younger members to consider applying for these positions when they come up again in 2018.